Portugal: More than a dozen world heritage sites. Discover the land of the Explorers
Get yourself to Miranda do Douro!

The tale behind Portugal's National Pantheon

Lisbon’s Panteão Nacional is in the Church of Santa Engrácia. Still incomplete today, the church became the national monument in 1910 and later the National Pantheon. The church is considered to be one of the finest baroque monuments in Portugal, it is crowned by a giant dome and its interior is mostly marble.


The National Pantheon honors the memory of outstanding Portuguese citizens who have distinguished themselves in service to the nation, through holding public offices, military service, in the expansion of Portuguese culture, in literary, scientific and artistic creation or in defense of the values ​​of civilization. Being buried in the National Pantheon honors them.

The National Pantheon also houses monuments to heroic figures, including: D. Nuno Álvares Pereira, Infante D. Henrique, Pedro Álvares Cabral, Afonso de Albuquerque, Luís de Camões and Vasco da Gama.

The decision to "Pantheonize" famous Portuguese citizens began in 1836, when then minister Passos Manuel ordered the founding of a National Pantheon. The goal at the time was to dignify heroes who sacrificed themselves in the Revolution of 1820 and to honor great names of Portuguese history, such as Luis de Camões. It was dedicated on December 1, 1966. The title National Pantheon is shared with the Jerónimos Monastery in Lisbon, to the Monastery of Santa Maria da Vitoria in Batalha, and to the Church of Santa Cruz in Coimbra.

Among the illustrious Portuguese buried in the National Pantheon are Presidents of the Republic and writers. Also buried here are political dissident Humberto Delgado, soccer start Eusébio da Silva Ferreira and fadista Amália Rodrigues

Honored personalities include:

Almeida Garrett (1799-1854), writer and politician;

Amália Rodrigues (1920-1999), fado singer;

Aquilino Ribeiro (1885-1963), writer;

Eusébio da Silva Ferreira (1942-2014), soccer star;

Guerra Junqueiro (1850-1923), writer;

Humberto Delgado (1906-1965), opponent to the Estado Novo;

João de Deus (1830-1896), writer;

Manuel de Arriaga (1840-1917), President of the Republic;

Óscar Carmona (1869-1951), President of the Republic;

Sidónio Pais (1872-1918), President of the Republic;

Sophia de Mello Breyner Andresen (1919-2004), writer;

Teófilo Braga (1843-1924), President of the Republic


Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

Verify your Comment

Previewing your Comment

This is only a preview. Your comment has not yet been posted.

Your comment could not be posted. Error type:
Your comment has been saved. Comments are moderated and will not appear until approved by the author. Post another comment

The letters and numbers you entered did not match the image. Please try again.

As a final step before posting your comment, enter the letters and numbers you see in the image below. This prevents automated programs from posting comments.

Having trouble reading this image? View an alternate.


Post a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until the author has approved them.

Your Information

(Name and email address are required. Email address will not be displayed with the comment.)